RSS

Cilantro Chicken gravy

05 Jun

Image

Its been some time that I had blogged about food.Life has been a little hectic lately with a lot of travelling,settling and resettling .Though cooking is something that I would do irrespective of how or where I am ,I have not been able to click or post anything I have tried of late.

I thought may be if I did something that I tried something new that I really liked I would get myself to blog again and,here it is.Cilantro Chicken Gravy!!

I have made cilantro chicken before with garam masala powder which was more stronger in taste. I had  come across this recipe some time back and have been itching to try.I liked it more because it was subtle n both taste and smell .

Ingredients:

  1. 500gms chicken
  2. 1 onion thinly sliced
  3. 1 onion for paste
  4. 3-4 cloves of garlic
  5. 1/2″ ginger
  6. 3/4 cup fresh cilantro leaves
  7. 2 green chillies
  8. 5-6 pepper corns
  9. 3-4cardamom
  10. 1 cinnamon sticks
  11. 1/2 tsp corriander seeds
  12. 3/4 tbsp cumin seeds
  13. 2 cloves
  14. 1/2 tsp poppy seeds
  15. 1/2 tsp sugar
  16. 2tbsp lime juice
  17. Salt to taste
  18. water

Method:

  1. Wash and cut chicken into pieces of you liking.
  2. Grind together with very little water items 3-7 into fine paste,then add items 8-14 and grind it further,to break down the spices.
  3. In pan add 2 tsp of oil ,and fry the sliced onion till it is translucent.
  4. Add the paste,and fry till it lets out a nice aroma.
  5. Add chicken and mix well.Add about 1 cup of water and salt to taste and cook till chicken is soft and tender.
  6. Add sugar and lime juice,mix well and bring to a boil.
  7. Serve hot with rice/roti.
 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2012 in Chicken

 

2 responses to “Cilantro Chicken gravy

  1. Rashmi

    June 6, 2012 at 10:39 pm

    It tastes awesome!! thank you for the recipe :D

     
    • Amrutha

      June 7, 2012 at 8:36 am

      Happy that you tried and liked it .

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 776 other followers

