RSS

Overcome Idli Terrors

12 Feb

Any South Indian ,worth his/her salt knows to make Idl i,may not necessarily be the world’s best Idli ,but some form of Idli nonetheless.Sadly, I could not say that about myself.Like my Hubby dear rightly calls it- IDLI-DEADLY,this south Indian Snack was my night mare for a very long time.When ever any one would appreciate my cooking,a nagging voice inside me said,”well yeah,a cook who cannot make idli’s”.This Morning I have been able to rest my inner conscience, for I have made the  fluffiest Idli with a super recipe from my dear BIL,Raj.

Words cannot express how much I am indebted to him for freeing my consciousness from the scary cage of IDLI inadequacy.

If I can make wonderful Idli’s  you can make too,use this recipe and over come your Idli Terrors.

Soaking time::4hrs,Preparation time:10mts,Cooking time:15mts,Serves:24-30 idlis

Ingredients:

  1. 3/4 cup Urad Dal/Black lentils.
  2. 1 cup Raw Rice.
  3. 1/2 cup  Beaten Rice/Poha
  4. 1/2 cup cooked Rice
  5. salt to taste.

Method:

  1. Wash and soak Urad dal and Raw rice for atleast 4hrs.
  2. Drain water from the above and grind to smooth paste with very little water.
  3. Wash and soak ,Poha for a few minutes prior to adding to the grinder.
  4. Add the above prepared Poha and Rice ,and Grind till you get  a fairly smooth paste.
  5. Note:Use as little water as possible,moderate the water in such a way that the grinder does not get stuck or heated.I used about 1/2 glass water in all.
  6. Remove the batter from the grinder and add salt,you may add a little water from the washed grinder as the thick batter would be stuck to the walls of your grinder and mix well.
  7. Note:The Batter will be thicker than the regular Dosa batter,and may look dry to you (add little water if you think it is very dry-as in it starts to become dry cakes on the top,that should not happen).
  8. Leave it covered over night.
  9. When its time to cook the Idlis,place a cooker with 1/4  water and bring the water to boil(Note:Water level should not be above the lower most layer of your idli stand).
  10. Apply oil to the idli  plate concave area,pour a ladle full batter into it(I have used a idli stand,if you do not have the same and have stainless steel small bowls you can use that as well,but do place some stand n the pressure cover so that you may place these bowls on it,take care that water does not touch the containers having idli batter,it is only steam that should get to it).
  11. Place the pressure cooker cover without weights,and cook on high for 10mts.
  12. Lower the flame and cook for another 5mts on low heat.
  13. Swich of the burner,and check for cooked idlis by pricking it with a toothpick which should come out clean.
  14. Let it stay for 1-2mts .
  15. Remove it using the narrow side of a spoon.
  16. Serve hot with chutney.
 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2011 in Breakfast, Food

 

3 responses to “Overcome Idli Terrors

  1. Rajendra

    February 12, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    A Blog well written as usual!
    Well one point you forgot to mention, another word of advice worth my salt …
    anyone trying the above recipe (since its copyrighted to me) should invite me for breakfast … thats the least I expect for having shared my secret formula 🙂 🙂

     
    • Amrutha

      February 13, 2011 at 12:47 am

      Are you sure yu want to be invited,wat if it turns out bad and they are calling with some intention 😛

       
  2. Rajendra

    February 13, 2011 at 9:27 am

    Well that would then call for some ‘constructive’ feedback :-), and then they would need to call me again after incorporating the feedback & suggestions …. and it would go on. I wouldn’t mind 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
