RSS

Kadgi/Tender Jackfruit Chacko

28 Jun

The time for the Summer season Vegetables and fruits have almost reached an end in India.I am talking about Jackfruits,Mangoes,Button Mushrooms etc.Even in my childhood I was not very fond of Mangoes or Ripe Jackfruit as I was of the Tender Jackfruit curries and chips that were made at home.Any dish which would be made of this would be finished by me alone in my house.Mom used to make this Tender Jack aka Kadgi in Konkani ;Ghashi for lunch and that would be the only time the rest of the family would see it.When after lunch the family would be taking a nap,I would devour the whole dish and mostly the Kadgi in it and leave the gravy behind.At the next attempt,my mom would try and make more that last time and I would better her at that as well.So I was quite known to most my family members and friends as a Kadgi lover.

Of the many dishes that can be made out of kadgi are the podi(ie deep fried),Ghashi(Coconut based gravy dish),Chacko(coconut based dry dish) and another dish which I am trying hard to remember(I did not like it as it used to be made of the matured Kadgi).Apart from this,Kadgi would be used as a accompaniment in lentils ,Chana,black beans etc curry.

It was quite difficult for me to find good kadgi/Tender Jack in Bangalore and I often used to import it from my inlaw and parents place.Over time I lost patience with the wait and effort to do the same and used to heavily rely on the holidays to go to inlaws /parents to eat to my hearts content.

It been over 1 yr that I had eaten this was almost surprised to find it in the Canned section in the International Food section of my local grocery store.I did not think twice before I took a can but did think for the last month if it would live upto my expectation.With many apprehension and careful thinking I decided the best course for this canned vegetable would be make CHACKO,as it supports pre cooked Kadgi and needs to mashed and cooked with the paste to get the best result.

I was surprised that the vegetable withstood the assault on it and actually came out as good as one made back home from the fresh from tree ones.

The only draw back I found was the quantity in the can,there were just about 15 quarters and is only enough for ME to eat in one sitting (which I could not as I had to share with rest of the family or choose to cook something else for them).For regular ppl I beleive this is good enough for 3serves.

This is the can i used:


Here goes the recipe

  1. 1 Can Tender Jack fruit.(2-3 Cups of chopped Tender Jack)
  2. 1 Cup Shredded coconut
  3. 4-5 Red fried Chilly
  4. 2 tsp Urad/Black gram dal
  5. 3tsp Corriander seeds
  6. 1 small ball of Tamarind
  7. Small piece of Jaggery
  8. Salt to taste
  9. 1/2 tsp mustard
  10. 4-5 Curry leaves
  11. 1tsp oil

Method:

  1. If using Fresh Jack cut and Pressure cook it till soft,if using can remove the Jack fruit from can and discard the saline.
  2. Roughly mash the pieces with spoon.
  3. In a pan add Black gram till brown(abt 1/2 mt) remove and then fry coriander seeds.-Remove them and keep aside.
  4. Grind together coconut,tamarind and chillies,when the paste is smooth add the black gram and coriander seeds and grind for 1 more mt,
  5. To this add Jaggery and salt to taste and continue to grind for 2mts.
  6. In a pan,heat oil(1tsp) and splutter mustard and curry leaves.
  7. To this add mashed Jack and the ground paste and mix well.
  8. Rinse the grinder with water(about 1/4 cup and add this as well)
  9. Bring the dish to a boil and simmer for about 5mts.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 28, 2011 in Konkani, Vegetarian

 

Leave a Reply

 
