RSS

Cinnamon Cake

07 Jun

Image

Any one who knows me or has been through my blog knows by now that I am not  a fan of baking cakes neither am I too fond of eating them.But every now and then when I see a good cake recipe ,I doubt if this one would be that one that will get me interested in getting into this art.

Divya’s blog from where I have got my recent inspiration and the recipe for this cake ,has been referred to me by more than one of my friends for her ease and simplicity of the recipe and visualisation of the procedure,making a novices life easier.

One other reason I did not foray into baking cake is that ,most places I see that the success of the cakes depends on the number of gadgets being used.Like any person trying something new,I did not want to invest in gadgetry unless I had developed at least an ounce of success through regular and readily available utensils.Also,I gather that the success of the cake depends on the integrity of the quality aka softness and aroma of the cake that should remain intact even after the cake has cooled down.

So my friends,with great happiness I share with you this recipe that I followed almost all words exempting the one ingredient and also using commonly available kitchen crockery,which was success ,atleast according to the handful people who ate it.

Last but not the least,I would like to thank my Dear Friend ,Samtha for giving me 2 important advice:1.Use both baking powder and soda, and 2 (the most important one),if you are beating by hand get your kid to beat the egg whites. ;-).

Here is the link:

http://www.divyascookbook.com/2011/08/cinnamon-tea-cake.html

Divya,Thank you for sharing such an awesome recipe!

Ingredients:

2 Cups All purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

4 eggs,white and yolk separated

1 cup sugar

1 cup oil

1/2 tbsp cinnamon sugar

3/4 cup yogurt

2-3 tbsp sugar to sprinkle over

Method:

  1. Sift together flour,cinnamon powder and baking powder and baking soda and keep aside.
  2. Separate Egg whites from the yolk and keep the yolk aside.
  3. In a bowl beat the egg whites in consistent circular motion,for nearly 30mts (I used a fork to beat and I saw that the bubbles that were forming graduated to a froth after which I stopped),keep this on the side
  4. In a larger bowl,mix together oil and sugar and mix for 2-3mts.Add the egg whites and mix together,till the sugar dissolves and makes a homogenous mixture(I used a fork again to do the beating,slow regular consistent circular motion).
  5. Add half the flour to this and mix till it is all mixed into a smooth batter,to this add the curd and mix it thoroughly.
  6. Add the rest of the flour and mix till they all have mixed well.(all the while I used a regular fork to do this mixing in the regular circular motion-like we beat eggs).
  7. Now Divya mentions that we need to “fold the egg white’s using Up and down motion”.(I used a larger fork,and while I was adding the egg whites ,I made same “beating egg motion ” but  larger than normal  with my hand and saw that the batter was actually falling like they were being folded !!!)
  8. Gradually add the egg whites,and do the folding for nearly 10mts till there are no visible egg whites.
  9. Meanwhile,preheat the oven to 350F.
  10. Line the bakeware with butter sheet,pour the batter into the bake ware.
  11. Sprinkle sugar on top and bake in the oven for 30-40,between which the cake will RISE TO THE OCCASION 😉 .and then gradually brown on top.
  12. Pierce a tooth pick in the center to check if the cake is thoroughly cooking(the toothpick should come out clean).
  13. Switch off the oven and let it cool down for 5-10mts.
  14. Turn it over in a plate,and remove the butter sheet.
  15. Cut and serve.
 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 7, 2012 in Bake

 

2 responses to “Cinnamon Cake

  1. sullakannur

    June 8, 2012 at 4:23 am

    happy to hear that you have sucessfully prepared sponge cke now you can lots type of cakes .which avni will like ,she is fond of cakes.

     
  2. priya dinkar kamath

    June 9, 2012 at 7:01 am

    thanks amrutha..that was a simple one to try for the first time

     

Leave a Reply

 
